Celebrating Role Models – Day 7

Playwright and Director, RUWANTHIE  DE CHICKERA

 

Writing is hellishily lonely work. For me, at least. And every time I indulge in it, I realise that there is a side to me that is utterly and completely a loner.

Directing, on the other hand… The unique energy of every new cast, the build up of a common passion amongst the group, opening night – and that moment before the third bell, where audience and actor hold their breath in anticipation… it gives me a completely different high.

I have to admit, that because directing is easier to weave into the chaos of daily life – (it’s very difficult, but not impossible, for me to direct a play and bring up two small children as well, for instance) – it has taken precedence over my writing. But I miss, very much, the stillness that surrounds writing. I have found ways to write amidst the noise and the clutter, but I need to get better at this.

I am very fortunate to have found what I really love doing in life – and even more lucky to be able to do it. I wish this power of experience on everyone. For it gives you moments – when you are in total union with your soul – where there is no tension between who you are and who you want to be. I can’t think of anything more beautiful or potent.

Photograph by Shakir Jamaldeen

Leave a Reply

